The Federal Republic of Germany, also called Germany (German: Bundesrepublik Deutschland[10] or just Deutschland), is a country in Central Europe. The country’s full name is sometimes shortened to the FRG (or the BRD, in German).

To the north of Germany are the North Sea, the Baltic Sea, and the country of Denmark. To the east of Germany are the countries of Poland and the Czech Republic. To the south of Germany are the countries of Austria and Switzerland. To the west of Germany are the countries of France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands. The total area of Germany is 137,847 square miles and has warm weather most of the year. In June 2013, Germany had a population of 80.6 million[6] people. After the United States, Germany is the second most popular country for migration in the world.[11]

Before it was called Germany, it was called Germania. In the years A.D. 900 until 1806, Germany was part of the Holy Roman Empire.

From 1949 to 1990, Germany was made up of two countries called the Federal Republic of Germany (inf. West Germany) and the German Democratic Republic (inf. East Germany). During this time, the capital city of Berlin was divided into a west and an east part. On 13 August 1961, East Germany started building the Berlin Wall between the two parts of Berlin. West Germany was one of the countries that started the European Union.[12]

Get Updates & More

Thoughtful thoughts to your inbox